Indian Premier League (IPL) is a Twenty20 tournament founded by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2008. IPL is a 20 over matches’ league, and it means each team play 20 over from both sides. Every year, 8 Teams represent eight cities of India participating in this tournament.

In IPL, every team player is selected in IPL Auction, where team owners bid for the players to play in their team. IPL is a very famous tournament in the world. More than 411 million viewers are watching live IPL matches every year. Every year, the IPL brand value is increasing. As of now, its brand value is $6.7 Billion. In any IPL match, Out of 11, there are only four overseas players who are allowed to play a game, and the remaining players should be of the Indian Continent.

History of Indian Premier League (IPL):

In April 2008, the first session of IPL was started, which was the idea of Lalit Modi, BCCI Vice president of that time. In order to decide the owners for a team, there was an auction in January 2008, which cost around $400 Million. At the end of Auction, all franchises were sold at $723.59, and a total of eight teams came up with names of cities. Bangalore, Chennai, Delhi, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Jaipur, Mohali, and Mumbai. Before the fourth season of IPL, two new teams joined the tournament. Pune Warriors India and Kochi Tuskers Kerala. Pune Warriors franchise was bought at $370, and Kochi Tuskers Kerala was bought at $333.

Format of IPL:

There are a total of eight teams and each team play with another team twice. In these two matches, one is played on one team’s home ground, and the other is played on another team.

With eight teams, the total number of matches played is 56. Two points are allocated for a winning team. The top four teams who have maximum points qualify for the playoffs.

In the playoffs, the top two teams will play against each other to qualify for the final. The last two teams will play against each other, and the loser of this match will be eliminated from the tournament.

Now, the loser of the top teams and the bottom two teams will play against each other, which decides the second finalist of IPL.

Prize Money:

In the latest season of IPL, total prize money of $500 Million offered in which a winning team got $200 Million, the First runner up got $125 Million, and the second runner up received $87.5 Million.

Is the IPL fixed?

There were whispers around the Indian Premier League 2019 finals that went right down to the last ball. But the harsh truth is that there is no proof to conclude that IPL matches can be fixed. Previously, a similar attempt was made in 2013 but was foiled by the police.

In other words, one can say that Cricket cannot be scripted. The number of runs or wickets in an over cannot be scripted. If you hit the ball in Cricket, you have no idea where it lands or in which direction it goes. The approach depends on the bowler. A bowler cannot bowl exact balls if they are scripted.

Obviously, matches are not scripted. Some tournaments may give you doubt, but in Cricket, nobody is ready to lose for another team win or to make it a draw to feel tense. Cricket is a team sport and involves every part of your body and every player on the team. Not like WWE, where one takes 85 punches and 50 kicks and still could stand.

Facebook Conversations